Suicide

My name is suicide. You all know me.

I’m a coward in many ways.

I am selfish. I take and take.

I hide behind smiles.

I hide behind tears.

But you all know me.

My name is suicide.

I don’t discriminate.

I’ll take your sister, your brother, your mom or dad.

I’ll take black or white, male or female, gay or straight.

I don’t care about religion or race, gender or sex.

I don’t care how much money you have, how many friends you have.

I don’t care if you have kids or if you live alone.

I lie.

I tell you things will be better.

That no one will miss you.

I’ll be your friend. You can tell me your secrets.

My name is suicide.

I’ll embrace your differences.

I’ll tell you what you want to hear.

I’ll take you from this world with me.

Together forever we’ll always be.

My name is suicide.

I hide in your school.

I hide in your home.

I hide in your neighborhood or mall.

I take sisters from brothers, parents from children, and family from each other.

I take veterans and civilians.

I am selfish.

I take and take and don’t give back.

I’m always hungry, always hiding, and right there in the back of your mind.

My name is suicide.

And I am selfish.

Now, before you all start saying that this is not fair, I am not talking about victims of suicide. I’m talking as though suicide is a person who doesn’t care who you are, how much money you have, or what religion you are. Suicide is very prevalent. It’s out there. And suicide takes people from us before we even know what happened. Suicide needs to be talked about, the stigma needs to end. It should be a normal conversation to make sure that we all are safe. And if we aren’t safe, the conversation needs to turn to “how can I help?” People commit suicide everyday. And I think it’s time to talk about it.

About Preslee

I am diagnosed with Bipolar 2 Disorder, Borderline Personality Disorder, Panic and Anxiety disorders, and PTSD. I write about my own personal experiences and thoughts.

Posted on March 22, 2015, in Mental Health, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Your Thoughts

