Can’t Help Those Who Don’t Want to Be Helped

If you’ve ever taken the time, there’s a song by A Day To Remember called “End of Me”.

It’s a beautiful song, loud, like I like it. It has lyrics that I can relate to on so many levels. One of the lyrics that sticks with me:

“I get it, no, I get it. Can’t help those who don’t want to be helped.”

Why does that mean so much to me? Because I’ve been there. I live there.

There are people out there that I want nothing more than to help. I’ve been a helper for years. I grew up wanting to help others, it’s what I do, it’s what I live for. I grew up helping Donna with her demons, I became a CNA to help the elderly. I’ve been in customer service because I like helping people.

But the thing that always gets me, people, some people, they just don’t want to be helped. That’s so frustrating to me. I want nothing more than to help people and those people who don’t want me to help them irritate me. I want to help them. I want to be there for them.

Sometimes I think that I have a savior’s complex. Where when someone is going through hell I want to save them.

But some people you can’t help them.
image

About Preslee

I am diagnosed with Bipolar 2 Disorder, Borderline Personality Disorder, Panic and Anxiety disorders, and PTSD. I write about my own personal experiences and thoughts.

Posted on March 13, 2015, in Life, Mental Health, Support. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Your Thoughts

