Self-Harm is NOT Death

The one thing I hate about talk about self-harm is that everyone thinks that it’s a suicide attempt. I look at people with their scars and think how brave they are. They are brave because they decided to live.

You live with the self-harm. It’s not the end. It’s a way to cope. It’s not exactly healthy. But it’s how we get through the crappy day or crisis.

I cut, or I used to. I still want to…really badly. But I’ve resisted.

When I have a bad day, I want to cut. When I’m bored, I want to cut. When things get really tough or I get pissed off, I want to cut.

Self-harm isn’t the answer, but it’s not the end.

Keep holding your head up high. WE will get through this.

About Preslee

I am diagnosed with Bipolar 2 Disorder, Borderline Personality Disorder, Panic and Anxiety disorders, and PTSD. I write about my own personal experiences and thoughts.

Posted on March 10, 2014, in Mental Health, Support and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. You need a passionate hug dear. Don’t be alone….

  2. I really like your blog, it isn’t easy living with depression, mental health issues; but I love your desire to spread awareness and to keep living life! I use to self-harm, struggled with depression and anxiety, and yes, have those scars on my arms, but am recovered thankfully I’ve a blog reaching out to those who self-harm, struggle with mental health issues, check it out if you like!
    http://hopeinhealingblog.wordpress.com/
    All the best, Val

Your Thoughts

