Today’s Session

Today’s session went really well. My counselor was very pleased with my progress. She says that there is a sparkle back in my eyes that hasn’t been there for a while. I noticed it too. I feel pretty good today.

She talks a lot, a lot more than I think that a counselor should, but I like going to her. She thinks that I’m doing well. She likes my idea about speaking before a high school, saying that I’m being brave. She thinks that my story needs to be heard and that i have a lot to give others.

She also wants me to call her when I start to get down, because she wants to keep up with me. She also knows that I don’t have a job, which means no insurance, which means no money. She said not to worry about it. And for that I’m thankful. One less thing to worry about.

We talked about trying to get Rockee in to be a therapy dog… The best advice she could give me was to look online, which is what I’ve been doing. I can find the testing, the requirements, but not the training. So, if any of my readers have any suggestions on that, I would be very eager to hear from you.

Life has been very good as of the last few weeks. There was a down period last week, but like I told Pat, I don’t know if it was because of the  circumstances surrounding me, or if I was simply depressed. I’m pretty sure that it was due to the circumstances.

I might have a job. So, that’s good I guess. I know that I need a job because I need the money and the insurance that is offered. But I’m nervous, or at least apprehensive because I like being able to schedule my life around what I want to do, instead of around a job. But, we’ll see how well it goes.

In therapy, we talked a little bit about my dreams. They all include bitch. That is something that is ever present. Pat thought that maybe it’s because I want to pursue that with her. But I told her that I know where bitch is, and it’s not a good place for me right now. I know that it’s something that I can’t handle right now. Pat said that she understood. And she thought that it would be good for me to just put that on the back burner and maybe come back to it later.

I think that I’ve made a lot of progress. I hope that this trend continues.

About Preslee

I am diagnosed with Bipolar 2 Disorder, Borderline Personality Disorder, Panic and Anxiety disorders, and PTSD. I write about my own personal experiences and thoughts.

Posted on August 20, 2013, in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Carry on and keep battling onwards and beyond. 🙂
    Sir Winston, from the blog of Mr MIdnight, SIr Winston and myself, found your blog post very honest and encouraging. Withouit even knowing you, he recommends taking small steps, one small step every day, with which to get your life onto the road to happiness and tranquility.
    It´s alright for him to suggest such things; he´s a cat, but I must say that there is a lot of wisdom in his thoughts. Life does not have to be tackled in one chunk but taken in little steps at a time towards one´s personal goal.
    We wish you good luck and have fun “discovering what you want from life” 🙂
    Best regards. “The lads” and myself. 🙂

  2. Very very pleased for you! With regards to training for Rockee, you might try to contact http://crazywithdog.com/ as she is going through it with her dog. Keep up the great work.

  3. I’m glad you are doing better!
    I know in the US, the training for therapy dogs is pretty ambiguous. I know they need to be able to pass “Canine Good Citizens” and advanced obedience (which looks very similar). It varies by state and jurisdiction here. The biggest things I have heard from trainers is that they need to be able to leave anything alone, no matter how tempting, and not to react to anything. I was trying with my dogs, but then the depression got in the way and my training has dropped off.
    Good luck, it would be awesome to have your dog as a therapy dog 🙂

Your Thoughts

