My Grand Idea

So, my grand idea is this: I want to publicly speak about mental health/mental illness, self harm, bullying, depression, and suicide. I think that a great place to start would  be at my local high school.  But, I’m not sure how I would go about doing it.

I’ve consulted with my contributor, Amber, and she has some ideas and support.

I need to contact the school, my fear is that they will not allow it for 2 reasons: it’s a touchy subject, and I’m some random chick off the street. I know some people at the school I graduated from, the secretary, the counselors assistant, and several teachers. But I fear that this will be something they won’t approve due to the reasons I just listed above.

Pending approval, I would need a program. That’s something that I’m not sure how to do.

I have an opener: How many of you know someone who tried or succeeded in killing themselves? It’s ok, no one is here to judge, you’re not going to get in trouble for raising your hand. How many of you have thought about or attempted suicide? Again, no one is judging you. Did you know, worldwide, 1 million people die by suicide? That’s a third of the population of Dallas, and that is a ton of people.

I would go into my story. My struggle with depression as a teen, evolving into self harm, which later progressed into suicidal thoughts in my adulthood. Leading to my hospitalization, because the thoughts were so overwhelming, and now, I’m in recovery.

The point? 1 in 4 people suffer from depression, and most have engaged in self-injury at least once in their life time. Depression, suicide, and other mental health issues should not be taboo, they shouldn’t hold a stigma. Although it is difficult to talk about, it is something that needs to be said because it affects all of us. When someone commits suicide, it touches their family, their friends, their school, even their community. It’s not just taking your life, but you are taking a piece of everyone else as well. It deserves attention. It’s serious and it’s not a joking matter.

The result: I want to touch people, make them realize that this isn’t just something to joke about, it’s a real epidemic. Mental health is so important to everyone.

That’s my idea. Now, I just have to put it in motion.

About Preslee

I am diagnosed with Bipolar 2 Disorder, Borderline Personality Disorder, Panic and Anxiety disorders, and PTSD. I write about my own personal experiences and thoughts.

Posted on August 17, 2013, in Mental Health, Support and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Your Thoughts

