That Awkward Moment

You know that awkward moment when you’re around the people you really don’t care about in the first place, and they randomly and insensitively make fun of mental health or mental illness? I know those moments all too well. And they don’t care.

They say that depression is selfish. Bipolar is insanity. And PTSD is something silly. Anxiety is just nerves.

It hurts. Why? Because I deal with these things. I haven’t been formally diagnosed with Bipolar or PTSD. But I believe in talking about mental health. And I don’t mean talking, saying that these people are crazy. By spreading awareness, we disable this kind of hate talk. And yea, I take it personally. Especially when I’m cornered and have nowhere to go. And there is nothing I can do about it.

But there it is. That awkward moment when someone makes fun of mental health and mental illnesses like its normal, everyday speech.

About Preslee

I am diagnosed with Bipolar 2 Disorder, Borderline Personality Disorder, Panic and Anxiety disorders, and PTSD. I write about my own personal experiences and thoughts.

Posted on June 27, 2013, in Mental Health, Support and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. thankfully my friends don’t make fun of such things as many of them have their own struggles but when i was younger it was definitely more taboo, there was great judgement and misunderstanding in regard to mental illness. if you search “bipolar” on twitter you’ll get a stream of teenagers whinging about their ipod acting bipolar, or their something being bipolar, it’s not an adjective people it’s an illness! i hope you find the strength and patience to educate those who need it ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Exactly!!! People are using words marked specifically for illnesses as adjectives, and that’s not right! It’s irritating and so frustrating because they don’t care. They have never cared. It’s my in laws, we have tons of problems. Or maybe I have problems with them because of it. My mom is more supportive, she doesn’t understand completely, but she’s supportive. Whereas my husbands family is completely opposite. They don’t understand, they don’t care. And it’s very offensive. And I’m told to just get over it. Like I’m not supposed to have feelings on the matter or how they talk to my husband.
      Thank you for your support! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Do they know you have a mental illness? If they do, it goes from being insensitive to passive aggressive, I’m so sorry you have to put up with that, it must be so frustrating!! You’re most welcome, I’m all about supporting others with depression/bipolar, we can end up feeling so alone sometimes! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • My mother in law knows that I have depression and anxiety. She said that being depressed is selfish. As for the anxiety, she says that it’s just nerves and I just need to relax. But my therapist thinks that I could be dealing with PTSD, and it’s odd that she happened to mention that she thought her cats’ kittens were suffering from PTSD.

  2. Oh my you poor thing, I would lose my shit if my mother in law spoke to me like that lol maybe you should print out some factual information about your condition and leave it for them to read. I guess you can either confront them or accept they’re misinformed and try to shrug it off, I hate when people go out of their way to make others feel crappy

  3. Reblogged this on Because I Can't Use Tumblr for a School Assessment and commented:
    Everyday, even teachers at school do it sometimes. It’s awful.

  4. I was at the cinema last week and the film had a depressive character and they kept making fun of him. And the theater was roaring. It was horrible.

Your Thoughts

