Imaginary

“I linger in the doorway, Of alarm clock screaming, Monsters calling my name.
Let me stay, Where the wind will whisper to me, Where the raindrops, as they’re falling, tell a story.

In my field of paper flowers, And candy clouds of lullaby.
I lie inside myself for hours, And watch my purple sky fly over me.

Don’t say I’m out of touch, With this rampant chaos – your reality.
I know well what lies beyond my sleeping refuge, The nightmare I built my own world to escape.

In my field of paper flowers, And candy clouds of lullaby.
I lie inside myself for hours, And watch my purple sky fly over me.

Swallowed up in the sound of my screaming, Cannot cease for the fear of silent nights.
Oh, how I long for the deep sleep dreaming, The goddess of imaginary light.

In my field of paper flowers, And candy clouds of lullaby.
I lie inside myself for hours, And watch my purple sky fly over me.”

— Evanescence

I have loved this song since I heard it. It’s called “Imaginary” by Evanescence. I have loved it because, I think, it hit home. The nights that I couldn’t sleep and hallucinations that followed me everywhere. I wanted to create a world where I could simply disappear.

I loved it because she didn’t. I wasn’t even supposed to have this CD, but I did. I bought it myself when my cousin showed me “My Immortal”.

I would listen to the song over and over again, hours upon hours. I still don’t get tired of it. For some dark reason, I connect to it. I say dark, because the song itself is dark. It hosts dark tones and themes. It’s beautiful. And it’s been a perfect song for me for a very long time.

This might not make any sense to anyone, I could just be rambling on. But I love this song. And I think many people could feel the same connection and pull to this song, just like me.

About Preslee

I am diagnosed with Bipolar 2 Disorder, Borderline Personality Disorder, Panic and Anxiety disorders, and PTSD. I write about my own personal experiences and thoughts.

Posted on May 10, 2013, in Creativity and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Your Thoughts

