We’re All Mad Here

The Mad Hatter: Have I gone mad?

Alice Kingsley: I’m afraid so. You’re entirely bonkers. But I’ll tell you a secret. All the best people are.

Yes, I’m watching the most recent, Tim Burton edition of Alice in Wonderland.

It reminds me of a tattoo that I want to get that has the hatter’s hat and a quote saying “We’re all mad here.” Over done? Yes, I know of people who have this tattoo. But I still want it. I think it will be cool if properly executed.

I’ve been thinking recently about death…It’s not a happy subject, but somehow it seems that it would be financially better for my husband than with me living. Of course, I don’t want to act on this ideals, but the thought is there. Just muted…Very muted.

The line in the quote makes me think about all of us dealing with depression, anxiety, bipolar, PTSD, and other illnesses. Our illnesses don’t define us, in fact they make us better people. Sure, not all of us can get out, but somehow, it makes us appreciate the good days…rare as they may be in some cases.

We live, though our illnesses tell us not to. We work, though our illnesses make it highly difficult. We are still here. We are still alive.

So, maybe we are all mad here, but all the best people are.

 

About Preslee

I am diagnosed with Bipolar 2 Disorder, Borderline Personality Disorder, Panic and Anxiety disorders, and PTSD. I write about my own personal experiences and thoughts.

Posted on May 9, 2013, in Life, Mental Health and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Your Thoughts

