I Am Not A Child

I am not a child. I haven’t been for several years.

I am a married woman. My husband is not my father.

So, when I post things on my page, about things in general, I’m not necessarily shoving a finger in your face. The fact that you are assuming that I am talking about you or your family, says something about you.

I don’t have to point out your flaws, you do it yourself. But the fact that I say something that you don’t like, you come running to my husband to tattle on me like a small child? What does that say about you? That you can’t handle things? That you believe that you are getting me in trouble?

Here’s what is so controversial:

My husband and I are a team. I don’t care if you don’t like me and the things that I’ve done, or if you don’t like my husband and the things that he’s done. But, you will respect us both, as a couple and a team. If you don’t like it, deal with it. 🙂 I love him, and for some crazy reason, he loves me. 🙂 We’re a team, and we’re in it for a lifetime.”

I posted this to my Facebook on Monday. I don’t see how this is offensive in any way. I don’t. Maybe I’m wrong, but other people agree with my opinion. My husband and I have been through a hell of a lot. We are a team, and we stand by each other. I’m not asking anyone to like me. I’m not. But you will respect me.

Now, last night, my husband got a phone call. Bitching about this post. Why? Because BIL thought that it was offensive and directed at him and his family. Why? I don’t understand.

The problem I have with this: You called my husband to tattle like a child. This makes you immature. It offends me that you don’t think that I am entitled to my opinions. That you don’t believe that we should be married, or the fact that you think that my husband has control over me like a child. I am not a child. My husband is NOT my father.

Now, when faced with a situation like this, I’m ready. Let’s go. Bring it on bitches! But for the sake of my husband, I deleted the post that I had recently put up in defense of myself, my opinions, and my freedom of speech.

By trying to save face, you’re just adding fuel to the fire. Because I’m ready to fight. When you say “I’ll handle it”, that’s admitting that you believe that I’ve done something wrong and I haven’t. You’re not keeping peace, you’re just fanning the flames and adding fuel. They already hate me. So when you admit that I’ve done something wrong, you continue to fuel their dislike of me. That’s not fair to me. You are my husband and my partner.

I believe that when you get married, you stand by your partner. I have done it many times in my family. When someone says something negative about your spouse, you take up for them. I’m not asking you to start a war with your family. I’m asking you to stand up for your wife. It’s time that you stop worrying about what everyone else says. I’m your wife, and I love you. I defend you and stand by you. You can do the same for me.

Again, I am not a child, my husband is not my father. You need to get your life in check, because the next time you try to confront my husband over something I said, I’m not turning the other cheek.

About Preslee

I am diagnosed with Bipolar 2 Disorder, Borderline Personality Disorder, Panic and Anxiety disorders, and PTSD. I write about my own personal experiences and thoughts.

Posted on April 26, 2013, in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Good for you for standing up to yourself. I see nothing wrong with that post at all; if anything I find it quite an uplifting and loving speech towards your husband!

Your Thoughts

