Doctors and Medication

So I recently went to a new doctor, since mine was kind enough to tell me to find someone else. After two days of pep-talks from friends and family, I was finally able to make the call. To say I was nervous, would be accurate, but I did it.

The professional I saw was very concerned. She was more than willing to help. She listened to my theories and my symptoms.

Of course, I told her I have been having some issues with my depression, and more problems with anxiety. I told her about my history with depression, that I know this is not just a sadness. She asked about my low days, if I got angry. I told her that I get angry a lot and it gets to the point that I want to hurt myself or others. “Have you hurt yourself before?” Yes, I have. She saw my arm. The look on her face told me that she hurt for me and that she was worried for me.

I told her that I’ve been wondering if I’m bipolar. I seem to swing from the extremes. The higher I am, the lower I go. I just want to know what’s going on with me. The fact that my brother and uncle are bipolar, I mean, obviously it’s in my family.

So she told me that she’s going to treat me like I’m bipolar. It confused me, saying it like that. So I asked my friend what she thought that meant: she has an idea that she’s testing with medication. Ok. “We’re going to take care of you.” So she prescribed me Serequel XR. Hopefully this will balance me out. She also prescribed something for anxiety, temporarily.

She sat down beside me and put her arm around me. “Take care of yourself, and if you have any problems, let me know.” I will. “Promise. I don’t want to see anymore of this (my arm)”

So, I haven’t been able to start the medications yet, they are expensive and Hubby is trying to figure out if his card is working. Hopefully, I will be able to start them tomorrow.

Will update soon. But for now, I’m going to bed.

About Preslee

I am diagnosed with Bipolar 2 Disorder, Borderline Personality Disorder, Panic and Anxiety disorders, and PTSD. I write about my own personal experiences and thoughts.

Posted on April 23, 2013, in Mental Health and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. the Serequel XR should help with anxiety, depression and mood swings. She is saying she will treat you like you are bipolar as you have not had a diagnosis. Either way the meds should help you, watch the side effects, ask questions if they worry you. 🙂

Your Thoughts

