Support

Support is something that we all need, not everyone has that luxury.

I am grateful that I have family and friends that love me, even in my chaotic little world. But, I don’t have a lot of people who really understand.

When I say, “I have depression.” Sometimes, I get these looks like…”You’re crazy!” The eyes widen or roll, a half way smile crosses their face… Do you know what that’s like? Have you seen that face?

Anyhow, it’s nice to have people who do understand. Like my husband, though I’m not entirely sure that he completely understands all that goes on in my mind, just like I don’t understand everything in his. Or random psychology majors in other countries that stumble across your blog and start commenting on your posts. 🙂 Even that friend, the one that you haven’t seen in a very long time, but you text like every day.

Not everyone has that support. There are people who keep everything inside for fear of the stigma. There is a huge stigma associated with mental health and there really shouldn’t be. There is nothing wrong with needing help.

Sadly, there are secrets that we all keep. Things that we tuck down in the deepest crevices.

Have you heard about the girl in Canada who committed suicide after a picture of her being raped was passed around? She was bullied out of school, out of the community. She was a beautiful young woman. She needed support, she needed help.

If you are ever hurt, in any way, please, don’t keep it tucked away. Find someone you trust to talk to. Whether it’s your best friend, your parents, or a counselor, you need to talk to someone. Especially, if you are thinking about suicide.

You are not alone in this fight. You are not the only one that’s been hurt. You’re not alone.

About Preslee

I am diagnosed with Bipolar 2 Disorder, Borderline Personality Disorder, Panic and Anxiety disorders, and PTSD. I write about my own personal experiences and thoughts.

Posted on April 16, 2013, in Life, Mental Health, Support and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Your Thoughts

