Semicolon

I was browsing Facebook today, and one of the pages I follow posted something about a semicolon.

Found on HighAnxieties Facebook Page. www.facebook.com/HighAnXieties

Found on HighAnxieties Facebook Page. http://www.facebook.com/HighAnXieties

I have seen it before, and no, I’m not talking about in a sentence. Someone tattooed one on their wrist. I thought, well that’s odd… But a great many people tattoo things. The story was that it could have ended, just like a sentence, but they kept going.

It’s one of those odd things that people do to raise awareness for suicide prevention. There’s another movement, something called the butterfly project? You draw a butterfly when you want to cut. If you don’t cut, the butterfly lives. But if you cut, the butterfly dies.

Anyhow, I just thought that it was interesting that the semicolon is representing the opportunity to stop but keep going.

I, unfortunately, killed my butterfly last week. Now, I have to keep the ideas at bay and hope that I can move on from my last relapse.

Don’t let your story end.

 

About Preslee

I am diagnosed with Bipolar 2 Disorder, Borderline Personality Disorder, Panic and Anxiety disorders, and PTSD. I write about my own personal experiences and thoughts.

Posted on April 16, 2013, in Mental Health, Support and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I am sorry your butterfly died. Have you tried some other methods to replace cutting?

    *hugs*

Your Thoughts

