Panic And Anxiety

I was just thinking, because I’m fairly sure that I’ve read that there is a difference between the two…Is there a true difference between a panic attack and an anxiety attack?

Does anyone know this answer? I haven’t been following my psychology like I had hoped, since I quit college and everything. I’m not sure if there is a difference between the two.

ABC News Health says that there are both similarities and differences between the two; stating that when the stressor goes away, so does the anxiety attack. But a panic attack is unprovoked.

There’s another blogger, one that I was able to talk to last night, who has some very good information on anxiety. She seems to really know her psychology. She’s very sweet.

All this information really makes me wonder what’s going on with me. Am I having panic attacks or anxiety attacks? When I have an attack, I don’t feel like I’m going to die. Though, my last two attacks were unprovoked and I felt as though I couldn’t breathe. What is going on with me?

Of course, I should really give my therapist a call, I just can’t afford it right now. I should probably be back on my medications, I just haven’t made the appointment…UGH!

Some days, I’m afraid to leave my house, I’m too nervous to answer the phone. Right now, I’m nervous about calling the doctor to say that I need something for my anxiety…Or that I need help with my anxiety. I’m not helping anything, especially myself.

 

About Preslee

I am diagnosed with Bipolar 2 Disorder, Borderline Personality Disorder, Panic and Anxiety disorders, and PTSD. I write about my own personal experiences and thoughts.

Posted on April 16, 2013, in Mental Health and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. There are panic attacks.. and there is anxiety.

    Some may refer to shorter lived attacks as anxiety attacks, these are panic attacks. They will vary in each person. Tis the fight or flight response kicking in and taking over your bodies functions. Blood flow increases to limbs, is robbed from other areas, creating a numb tingling feeling in limbs, and stomach cramps as well. Breathing becomes rapid, hyperventilating, filling blood with oxygen so the body can react. The heart races, pumping blood much faster, again so the body can react to danger. Chemicals are released, Adrenaline surges, fear grows, you know you will have to react.. but perhaps not what you will need to react to. The rapid breathing furthers the attack, you can become dizzy. Your fear grows, you may feel like you are about to die.

    Legs become rubbery, you can’t catch your breath, you may vomit. They are short lived, maybe as long as 30 minutes, maybe shorter, symptoms or reactions will vary. I have a series of posts on them. A very good video too that helps people that do not have them to understand and how they can help someone going through one. Panic attacks may have triggers that you can identify, many times though, you just do not know why you feel this way or why you are going through it. You are just panicking. Never tell someone having a panic attack to calm down or to relax… believe me if they could they would.

    Anxiety doesn’t attack, it builds. It may build quickly if there are triggers, you may feel many of the same symptoms, when removed from the trigger they may subside. Most often anxiety will have a source, it may be an unrealistic source, but you can not help it, it may not make sense but you can identify it, you may be worried the clouds will fall (a silly example but it works). But it is something you can say this is what I am worried about. Of course there will be many things that you will worry about.

    of course you can have both, panic attacks and anxiety. But anxiety doesn’t attack.

    oh, and pssst, thank you. 🙂

  2. I am starting here, I will get to your new post as well but they are both expressing the same concerns, your anxiety, did this sort things out for you a bit? concerning panic attacks v.s. anxiety?

    What meds were you on before?

    • I was just on antidepressants. I didn’t realize that the prescription ran out. Went to get them filled and they had to fax the dr. I’m assuming that she declined. When I called her she told me that I needed to find someone else.

      I’m still somewhat confused. Because when I have an attack, I don’t necessarily feel like I’m dying. I have a hard time breathing, my heart races (feels like its going to beat out of my chest), my head sometimes feels tingly, and I can’t stand (usually results in sinking to the floor if I’ve been standing). I hyperventilate sometimes, or its like I can’t breathe at all.

      Hubby is making the call for me today, since I can’t seem to make it for myself.

      • that is a panic attack, the fear that you may die is not something that you will necessarily have. Crying too, for no reason, you can’t stop can happen. they are terrible. (psst yes I did a post on that too, and it is good for hubby to watch as it explains it as maybe you can not, a video is there from a girl that is really good, It is called dealing with panic attacks)

        I was going to say, calling is hard and I could sit here and be with you while you did it if it helped, but if hubby will that is better.

        now, you are a nurse at a hospital? oh.. I am nosy. Just to let you know in advance 🙂

        *hugs*
        Amber

      • I’m a CNA at a nursing home. We’re under-staffed and have a full house. It’s stressful.

      • awww, ok so a different type of resident to deal with.

        if you can get a med for your anxiety, I think the stress at work would be easier to deal with.

Your Thoughts

