Top of The World

“I wished I was smarter, I wished I was stronger.
I wished I loved Jesus, The way my wife does.
I wish it had been easier, Instead of any longer .
I wished I could have stood where you would have been proud.
But that won’t happen now, That won’t happen now.

There’s a whole lot of singing that’s never gonna be heard, Disappearing everyday without so much as a word somehow.
Think I broke the wings off that little song bird, She’s never gonna fly to the top of the world right now.
Top of the world

I don’t have to answer any of these questions. Don’t have no God to teach me no lessons.
I come home in the evening, Sit in my chair.
One night they called me for supper, But I never got up, I stayed right there in my chair.

There’s a whole lot of singing that’s never gonna be heard, Disappearing everyday without so much as a word somehow.
Think I broke the wings off that little song bird, She’s never gonna fly to the top of the world right now.

I wished I’d a known you, Wished I’d a shown you, All of the things I was on the inside.
I’d pretend to be sleeping, When you come in in the morning…
To whisper good-bye, Go to work in the rain.
I don’t know why, Don’t know why.

‘Cause everyone’s singing, We just wanna be heard, Disappearing everyday without so much as a word somehow.
Wanna grab a hold of that little song bird, Take her for a ride to the top of the world right now.

To the top of the world” — Dixie Chicks “Top of The World”

This song has always held a special meaning to me. I have been able to feel the music and lyrics for years. There was even a point in time that this was the ONLY song that I listened to.

I’ve been depressed for years, and listening to this song, it soothes, and I can just feel everything.

According to Wiki: During their 2002 concert film An Evening with the Dixie Chicks, Maines attempted to explain the song’s startlingly unusual perspective:

It is written from the point of view of a man who has passed on, and he’s sort of looking down wishing that he had been a different person, and having a lot of regrets and wishing he hadn’t had the negative effect on the people in his life and err… I don’t know what I just said…

I guess you can see that. I mean, the very first lyrics are talking about how a wife loved Jesus.

I just have always enjoyed the song. It’s sad, but the music is so beautiful. There has to be a reason it popped into my head today, of all days, after all these years.

About Preslee

I am diagnosed with Bipolar 2 Disorder, Borderline Personality Disorder, Panic and Anxiety disorders, and PTSD. I write about my own personal experiences and thoughts.

Posted on April 8, 2013, in Life, Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Your Thoughts

