Heated Debate

I was browsing Facebook and found that a friend liked a post about this bill that just passed at Texas A&M. It’s basically designed to stop funding on a LGBT center, something that helps with the community. Anyhow, the last minute they changed the name to something about religion.

I didn’t read the bill. I don’t want to, it’s probably full of political things that I won’t understand and won’t pretend to understand. But I went down into the comments and was reading what everyone was saying.

Everyone was bashing this guy named Justin. So, I tried to find what he had said. Of course, it was something stupid. He said something along the lines of people choose to be gay. They choose to be gay, so why does he have to pay for something that he doesn’t agree with.

So, with that logic. If I don’t agree with taxes, I don’t have to pay for it. Awesome!

And then, the one thing that really hit, “They choose to be gay.” Really?

Why would you CHOOSE to be a minority? Why would you CHOOSE to be discriminated against? Why would you CHOOSE to have family turn away, community to turn away, and be something that so many hate?

I don’t believe that you can choose to be gay. I really don’t. Because if you could choose, it would be EASIER to choose to be straight. Think about it, you can marry who you want. You can have kids and no one questions it. You have certain rights for being married. I’m just saying that it’s easier to be straight.

So, why would they choose to be gay? I just don’t think that’s possible.

Then, look at animals. Have you ever seen a gay dog or cat? I have….It’s weird, because I didn’t expect it. Cats and dogs can’t make conscious decisions. SO, tell me, how to animals choose to be gay? They can’t.

Just because you don’t agree with it, doesn’t mean you have to hurt it. I don’t agree with the church, and I don’t hurt the church. I just don’t go.

I just don’t think it’s a choice. That’s all.

About Preslee

I am diagnosed with Bipolar 2 Disorder, Borderline Personality Disorder, Panic and Anxiety disorders, and PTSD. I write about my own personal experiences and thoughts.

Posted on April 5, 2013, in Life, Support and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Your Thoughts

