Take Care of You

Taking care of yourself should be rule number one in dealing with depression.

I’m just saying. If you go and take a shower, put fresh, clean clothes on, wash your face (or do a facial-like, spa treatment), maybe put on some make up, fix your hair, taking care of yourself and your appearance will make yourself feel better. You can’t expect to feel miraculous, but hey, it helps.

On my good days, I can get up and put up my hair, give myself a MK facial, and even put on make up! It makes me feel good.

Another thing you can do to help yourself, eat healthier. Yea…I don’t do this one, but it helps, or so I’ve been told. Fast food, processed food is bad for depression. It has something to do with the chemicals in the food? I’m not sure. I know that when I’m depressed, I want nothing but a large pizza with extra peperoni and at least a pint of ice cream. I’m just sayin’!

Running helps. I can’t run to save my life. Eventually, I would like to be back to the point that I can handle running without dying in a minute or so. That’s a goal for me. Since I can’t run, I walk. If it’s a nice day, I like to take Rockee down to the park. We have a walking trail, it’s fun. It helps to be in the sunshine.

Sunshine! Being in the sunshine helps! It’s warming, you can feel the sadness leaving. It doesn’t always work, but it helps me a lot.

Cuddling/Hugging. It’s been proven that hugs are great for pain and sadness. It even helps with babies who aren’t doing so well in the hospital (yes, I’ve seen it on Grey’s Anatomy, but I’ve read it other places). Plus, when you have a crying baby, if you hug her, she calms down. Skin to skin works best. But hugs work in general.

Play with the dogs. Dogs are the happiest creatures on earth who want nothing more than attention from their humans. If you take a stick or a ball out there and just throw it, they are so happy! Let them lick you! Let them hug you.

And that’s just a few ways to take care of yourself. šŸ™‚

About Preslee

I am diagnosed with Bipolar 2 Disorder, Borderline Personality Disorder, Panic and Anxiety disorders, and PTSD. I write about my own personal experiences and thoughts.

Posted on April 4, 2013, in Life, Mental Health, Support and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Your Thoughts

