A Definition Of Not Leaving

“I wish I’d just stood and let the sun creep through me.
Instead of my attempts to build slingshots, spools and sinkers to bring in the sky.
Inventions out of sticks and stones, a crown dusted off from beneath the bones.
A white liar, protector of our hearts and homes.

Stay, don’t go,
I’ll eat you up, I love you so.

I want you to follow and find me,
Howl like its us and no-one else,
We could keep out the sadness and stand so tall,
We could run like wild things, and lie right where we fall.

Stay, don’t go.
I’ll eat you up, I love you so.”

This song is called “A Definition of Not Leaving” by Hands Like Houses.

I happened upon the band while searching the bands that were going to be at South by So What. I noticed that they toured with Peirce the Veil. So I gave them a listen. I love the entire Ground Dwellers CD, but this song is my ultimate favorite.

Looking it up online, at altpress.com and this is what I found. The lead singer describing each song on the CD.

“A Definition Of Not Leaving”

“Not Leaving” is my favourite. It’s about love, how it’s sometimes selfish but in the end it’s the being with someone who means the world to you and not letting go that counts. Stand still and let it warm you, fill you and become a part of you. It’s a dreamy, passionate electronic track with lots of electric pianos, organs, grand reverbs and layers of sound. -Todd Woodley

I love the song. Normally, I just listen to the music. Today, for some reason…It just hit me, like running into a brick wall. If you listen to the lyrics and the music, the music in the background…It just sounds like what’s going on in my head…if that makes ANY sense. I always feel like the ones I love are leaving me…And somehow, the music matches the mystical chaos in my mind. I actually started to tear up.

Songs are different to everyone. You can tell this is about love. I am in love with this song.

 

About Preslee

I am diagnosed with Bipolar 2 Disorder, Borderline Personality Disorder, Panic and Anxiety disorders, and PTSD. I write about my own personal experiences and thoughts.

Posted on March 27, 2013, in Life, Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Your Thoughts

