Ally for Equality

I found, via Facebook, a red background with an equal sign on it. I had no idea what this meant, but found that it was coming up EVERYWHERE! So, I did some digging. And I am proud to say that I changed my profile picture to reflect my support of equality in marriage.

Now, I posted the other day about equality in marriage, and it seems to have had some support, which is cool. But I know that family won’t agree. That’s fine I guess. But I hope that I’m ready for the bombardment of emails (telling me I’m going to hell) or comments (ultimately that argue the issue and tell me how disappointed they are).

It’s so weird knowing that I was raised to support my decisions, to stand for what I believe in. I truly believe in this. I don’t understand what is SO wrong with supporting equality. It goes back to my previous post. Why is it ok for me to get married, but not my mom? Why is it ok for you to marry, divorce, marry again, divorce, marry again, divorce, and (maybe this time) get it right, but my mom can’t get married? Why is ok to not say anything about extending rights to women, African Americans, or whoever, but (MY GOD) when we talk about extending rights to GAYS we’re all going to hell. I don’t get it. I don’t appreciate it. I know it’s a VERY heated debate. But I really don’t see this as that big of a deal. It’s doing what should be right.

Found this on Facebook via www.facebook.com/MyGayDay

Found this on Facebook via www.facebook.com/MyGayDay

About Preslee

I am diagnosed with Bipolar 2 Disorder, Borderline Personality Disorder, Panic and Anxiety disorders, and PTSD. I write about my own personal experiences and thoughts.

Posted on March 26, 2013, in Life, Support and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Your Thoughts

