Wake Up & Smell the Coffee

Alright. So, this morning, I wake up and check Facebook, like I usually do, and low and behold, family has posted a link about traditional marriage. Apparently, Starbucks has come out to say that if you support traditional marriage, we don’t want your business. So the post, the link that has been posted, says (something along these lines) don’t support Starbucks. (Finally on my computer instead of my phone, here’s the link: Starbucks CEO: No Tolerance For Traditional Marriage Supporters.)

I’ve had a problem, since I’ve found out about my family, with people who are quite on board with gay marriage. Everyone is entitled to their opinion. Even if you don’t agree with it. Everyone, and I do mean everyone, has their opinion about gay marriage. Some are for it, some are against it, some seem not to care either way. This is usually a heated subject, I’m not trying to start any fights, this is simply my opinions.

I, personally, support gay marriage. I hope that I don’t lose readers over this. Here’s my reason why. I was raised by two women. Two women who, at the time, loved each other very much. They were very supportive of me and my endeavors. They were loving, at least when I was younger, they had their own problems, just like a “traditional” couple. My mom is so cool. My legal mother, not so much, but that’s another story for another post, if I haven’t already posted it.

I think that if you love someone, you love them. You can’t help who you love. I fell in love with my best friend, which is why losing that relationship nearly killed me, because I loved her so much. But I also fell in love with my husband, and I couldn’t be happier with who I’ve taken as my love, my one true love.  We are meant to be. We are a heterosexual couple, there is nothing wrong with that.

I love my mom. She’s in love with a woman, and I couldn’t be happier for the two of them! They are a beautiful couple.

My deal with “traditional” marriage, is that I really don’t think there is any such thing as “traditional”.
If you want to look in the bible for a “traditional” marriage….well, it varies:

Then there is the argument that:

“When you give one group of people rights, you’re taking away from mine. Or that’s just how I see it.” -Family Member

I honestly don’t understand this quote. I really don’t. How is giving someone the right to marry taking away your right to marry? Or taking away your rights? I don’t understand that. At all. You have the right to marry whoever you want to, and yet, two people who love each other have no right to get married. How does that work? I don’t understand. It’s like the issue of women’s rights, or black rights…That is not PC, but I can’t think of what it is actually called this morning… Sorry. But seriously, if you see giving the right to marry to gays as taking away from you, let’s apply that to history. You wouldn’t have ANY rights! WHY? Because women, for the longest time, didn’t have rights. We were property, at one time, we had to follow our husbands wherever. We were traded. We had no say. There were arranged marriages at like, what, 10 years old? I mean, come on. You didn’t have the right to chose who you married, when you got married, where you lived, how many kids you had, what you did for a living — because you didn’t have a living, you stayed home and tended the house and kids. So applying that logic to history, you wouldn’t have any rights at all. It would still be the white man having and holding all the cards. I’m just saying.

“Gay marriage ruins the sanctity of marriage.”

Really? No it doesn’t. You know what ruins the “sanctity”? Adultery, divorce, what else can we throw in there? Those are the two big ones I can think of right now. Threesomes, foursomes, hiring hookers, I don’t know… How is two people, loving each other, ruining anything?

But then, you’ll have people who will say, well if the gays can get married, why can’t I marry my sister/brother, I love her/him. Ok…Well, gay people can’t actually reproduce and share chromosomes with the unborn child, whereas, if you marry you sister and reproduce, you’re giving that child a high chance of being…a tad messed up. There’s something about the dna being too close together, why is it that legally, you can marry your, what is it, second cousin? Because the DNA isn’t too close, so there are no major birth defects on record, whereas, if you marry your sibling or even your first cousin, or your dad/mom, there is a higher chance of the birth defects. Gay parents have to work to be parents, whether that is adoption, surrogates, whatever.

“Gays make bad parents.” “They’ll teach their children to be gay!”

Um, no. I can say from experience, that, I am not gay. I love my husband. I grew up with two women, I turned out fine. I am not gay, I support gay marriage, but being with gay parents didn’t “turn” me gay. Again, gay couples have to work hard to be parents because they can’t actually reproduce like “traditional” couples can. I was brought about via sperm donor and adoption? How does that work…I was conceived due to a sperm donor, and my legal mother adopted me. So yea. They still had to work to have me. 🙂 I think I turned out ok. I have issues, not because of my parents being gay, but because I have been through hell and back and am still kicking.

Anyhow, my point, I just don’t see how it would “ruin marriage” or “take away my rights” if we “allow” homosexual couples get married. Love is love.

To my readers, I hope that no one is offended. This is simply my opinion. Just like everyone else has one, I have a few too.

Additionally: Family and I get along pretty well. We just can’t talk about certain subjects, ie: gay rights/marriage, abortion, politics, mental health issues. I know that they love me, but sometimes the whole “I have to save your damned soul” gets annoying. I’m right with my Lord. I am saved. But I, like you, have my opinion.

About Preslee

I am diagnosed with Bipolar 2 Disorder, Borderline Personality Disorder, Panic and Anxiety disorders, and PTSD. I write about my own personal experiences and thoughts.

Posted on March 25, 2013, in Life, Support and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Your Thoughts

