The Greatest Night in Memory

promI don’t, often, have great memories. But this one, this one makes up for several bad days.

April 18, 2009 was a very busy day. My aunt took me and my cousin to get our hair, nail, and feet done. It had been a hectic day, because legal mother was being rude and pissed off the whole time. I think she was upset because my aunt could help me get ready for my special day, when she couldn’t. It was after Mom had moved out, I believe. I don’t remember seeing her that day.

I remember being excited! And then, I saw him. He came over to the house so that we could go. And he looked handsome.

We went to dinner. While we were there, he told me that his parents wanted him to break up with me after the night was over. They said that we were getting too serious. That worried me, but I figured that we would be ok. We finished dinner and went on our way.

So, it was awesome. All decked out in Asian decor. Dragons, gold, red, and black, beautiful. Friends were there. There was dancing, laughing, snuggling, pictures. It was a great evening.

So then, we went to leave. Little did we know that they were having Music on the Square that night. We got all turned around, and, seeing as how I hadn’t been driving that long, I got nervous. I yelled at him. And I know it made him mad. We didn’t talk or anything until we got into town.

That’s when it happened. He said, “let’s go to our spot.” I told him that we didn’t have time, that they were waiting and I didn’t want to get in trouble. He sounded so disappointed. So I asked him how private it needed to be, to which he replied, not very. So, we pulled into a parking lot, under a light. We sat there in silence. I cried, because I had gotten so upset and yelled at him. I apologized. We sat there and cuddled and just talked. Then we got a call…We had to go. But before we even got underway, he got out of the truck. I watched as he walked around the back and opened my door. He had me turn towards him, and hugged me. The way he was acting, I thought he was going to do it, he was going to dump me. He got down on one knee. He was so nervous! He told me, that after everything that happened, he loved me. He couldn’t imagine one day without me.

“Will you marry me?” — The love of my life

I couldn’t stop smiling, crying, laughing. I said yes! I was so happy.

We’ve been together since. We’ve had our ups and downs. But we are a great couple.

weddingWe got married, December 25, 2010. It was a lovely wedding, minus certain circumstances. He is a wonderful husband. He’s a wonderful partner, loving, helpful, and caring.

me&jd

He’s my rock. I love him. I can’t wait to see what the future holds for us.

About Preslee

I am diagnosed with Bipolar 2 Disorder, Borderline Personality Disorder, Panic and Anxiety disorders, and PTSD. I write about my own personal experiences and thoughts.

Posted on March 25, 2013, in Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Your Thoughts

