Depression

This particular post is for awareness.

Depression is real. It is an illness. It’s not a weakness. It’s not something that you just wake up and decide you get over. It’s not something you make up.

“Depression takes away our desire to socialize and makes it hard to feel joy in doing things like family get together’s & holidays. So please don’t take it personally or try to pressure us. Depression is a real medical illness that gives us negative thoughts and feelings. We don’t want this, we cannot just ignore it and it’s just not that easy to recover from.” Mental illness 101 – www.HighAnxieties.org

“Depression is a serious medical illness; it is not something that you have made up in your head.” NIMH

I have depression. It’s not something I’m proud of, sometimes it is a scary thing. It is exhausting. It takes a ton of energy. Some days, I don’t or can’t even get off the couch or out of bed. It’s not something I can control. Although, I wish I could control it, it’s bigger than me.

Some days, I’m good. Like yesterday, it was a good day. Then, there are some days that just takes everything I have just to function.

I hate when people tell me just to get over it, or be happy. If I could, I would. I don’t like feeling like this. It’s awful. It’s like telling someone with a broken leg to “just get over it!” You can’t. It takes time, it has to heal. Just because you can’t see it, doesn’t mean that it’s not real. If you could see the thoughts that I have sometimes, you would understand, you would know. But since you can’t, you don’t believe me. You think “attention seeking” or “get over it” or “it’s just a phase”. Really?

“Of course it’s happening in your head, but why should that mean it’s not real?” I know it’s in my mind. But it’s real. It’s just like being sick, getting cancer, or breaking a bone. It’s real. Respect that.

About Preslee

I am diagnosed with Bipolar 2 Disorder, Borderline Personality Disorder, Panic and Anxiety disorders, and PTSD. I write about my own personal experiences and thoughts.

Posted on March 19, 2013, in Mental Health, Support and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Your Thoughts

